PHILOSOPHY

May 3, 2010

The Last Wish to “Exist”

Variation on a theme of Muli Koppel’s “The Jump of Ks” http://digitalphilosophy.wordpress.com/2007/12/26/the-jump-of-ks/

Yves Klein’s “Leap into the Void”

The Last Wish to “Exist”

On Oct. 10, 1967 at 12:00 P.M., Søren was at the workplace: bored, depressed, and objectified. All of a sudden, he hastily ran off without punching out for lunch break and situated himself on the ledge of the wall:

“There is no point living if I can’t feel life. I need to think in concrete – without losing the ground beneath my feet. I need to exist . . . I must exist. Not by being here. Not by pretending not to know what is befalling me. What is worse than death than not existing at all? I must disabuse myself to the point of no return. I need not to know the meaning of being alive. No, I need no meaning if I can’t participate in it. What I crave is to experience being alive, to throw myself into it. No bliss without risk; no life without sacrifice. Doubting is the poverty of spirit. I must keep my spirit buoyant to fly. I have no more time to deliberate; it is time to liberate. Freely against the calculus of pain and fear I go . . . Today is the first day of the rest of my life, however short!”

Søren passionately leaped into the unknown. His death certificate pronounced him dead at 12:00 P.M. of that day at the workplace.

1 Comment »

  1. Great article!

    Comment by Danny — May 17, 2010 @ 11:19 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

